A Plastic Society

Jeff Bridges shared a video informing us of our large consumption of disposable plastic products. Find it here. I took his post as an opportunity to share my thoughts on the matter here.

Plastic doesn’t decompose like our food scraps do. Paraphrasing Jeff, our earth can’t stomach it. We downcycle it which is basically trying to find a way to reuse it. Usually it gets turned into a product of lesser quality but eventually it is just not reusable anymore. The motive behind the method has an eco friendly ring to it however it is just prolonging the inevitable.

We NEED to limit our use of disposable plastic products. Don’t believe me yet?

Australians use over 2 billion disposable nappies a YEAR, that sit in our dumps and landfills. I was doing my research on the matter when I came across a blog that specifically dove into what disposable nappies are made of. Find Green Kids blog here and do your research. Summarising Green Kids, the synthetic material used on your baby’s bottom is in fact polypropylene plastic. They’re bleached and perfumed, full of elastic and petrolatum. Imagine the earth trying to break that down and they’re just so good for your baby’s skin, right?

Now I’ve never had a child to be put in the situation of cloth vs. disposable nappies and I am not judging anyone who uses either. I know people who use both and being a parent would be difficult enough without the pressure of people forcing you into using a certain type of nappy. I am just stating some facts behind my opinion of limiting our plastic products. Eliminating plastic in anyway you can WILL help this planet and maybe reusable nappies IS your way.

Moving on to a choice I recently made to benefit the environment (and my body), using reusable cloth pads and menstrual cups. Tampons and pads are full of the same paper pulp in nappies. LunaPads shares on their website that in North America over 20 billion disposable pads and tampons reach and clutter landfills annually. I am unsure the estimated number within Australia but I am assuming it is large. Again, our earth can’t break them down. I understand it’s a personal hygiene choice but your plastic pads are harbouring nasty bacteria. I might go into depth someday about my choice to switch but for now don’t you think killing the earth is a good enough reason?

Everyone uses plastic spoons, cups, forks, straws, bags, wrapping etc. The list goes on. Do we need to use these though? The answer is NO we don’t. We have an environmentally friendly alternative for a lot of disposable plastic products, so why don’t we make the switch?

I recently saw a video of man in India making edible spoons from substances such as wheat. I doubt it would have been tasty… but they decompose within 4 days! What a man. We need humans looking for alternatives, not settling on what we have.

So take this as a sign, eliminate one form of plastic. It isn’t as hard as you think.

 

I know this is not related to anxiety but my blog is going to be full of my opinion and all of that comes full circle. 

 

Leave a Reply

